Books 2018-05-08T09:11:10+00:00

Dawlish Chronicles Books

All available in Paperback or Kindle format

Click cover images for purchase details and to read readers’ reviews

Click image for more detail

1884 – a fanatical Islamist revolt is sweeping all before it in the vast wastes of the Sudan and establishing a rule of persecution and terror. Only the city of Khartoum holds out, its defence masterminded by a British national hero, General Charles Gordon. His position is weakening by the day and a relief force, crawling up the Nile from Egypt, may not reach him in time to avert disaster.

But there is one other way of reaching Gordon…

A boyhood memory leaves the ambitious Royal Navy officer Nicholas Dawlish no option but to attempt it.  The obstacles are daunting – barren mountains and parched deserts, tribal rivalries and merciless enemies – and this even before reaching the river that is key to the mission. Dawlish knows that every mile will be contested and that the siege at Khartoum is quickly moving towards its bloody climax.

Outnumbered and isolated, with only ingenuity, courage and fierce allies to sustain them, with safety in Egypt far beyond the Nile’s raging cataracts, Dawlish and his mixed force face brutal conflict on land and water as the Sudan descends into ever-worsening savagery.

And for Dawlish himself, one unexpected and tragic event will change his life forever.

Britannia’s Gamble is a desperate one. The stakes are high, the odds heavily loaded against success. Has Dawlish accepted a mission that can only end in failure – and worse?

Click image for more detail

1882: Florence Dawlish stands at the quayside in Portsmouth and watches the Royal Navy’s newest cruiser, HMS Leonidas, departing under command of her husband Nicholas. Months of separation lie ahead, quiet months which she plans to fill with charitable works.

But an unexpected incident brings Florence into brutal contact with the squalid underside of complacent Victorian society. With her personal loyalties challenged to the limit, and conscious that her persistence in seeking justice may damage her ambitious husband’s career, not to mention the possibility of prison for herself, Florence is drawn ever deeper into a maelstrom of corruption and violence.  The enemies she faces are merciless and vicious, their identities protected by guile, power and influence.

Britannia’s Amazon plays out in a world of extreme wealth and limitless poverty, marriages of American heiresses to British aristocracy and children starving in foul garrets, crusading journalists and hideously disfigured match-girls, arrogant aesthetes and ineffectual benevolence.

This volume includes as a bonus the long short-story Britannia’s Eye, which gives a new – and susprising – insight to Nicholas Dawlish’s childhood. It tells of his relationship with his uncle, a naval officer forced through ill health  to retire early, and of the secrets that this man brought with him to an early grave.

Click image more detail

1882 and Captain Nicholas Dawlish RN has just taken command of the Royal Navy’s newest cruiser, HMS Leonidas. Her voyage to the Far East is to be a peaceful venture, a test of this innovative vessel’s engines and boilers.

Dawlish has no forewarning of the nightmare of riot, treachery, massacre and battle he and his crew will encounter.

A new balance of power is emerging in the Far East. Imperial China, weak and corrupt, is challenged by a rapidly modernising Japan, while Russia threatens from the north. They all need to control Korea, a kingdom frozen in time and reluctant to emerge from centuries of isolation.

Dawlish finds himself a critical player in a complex political powder keg. He must take account of a weak Korean king and his shrewd queen, of murderous palace intrigue, of a powerbroker who seems more American than Chinese and a Japanese naval captain whom he will come to despise and admire in equal measure. And he will have no one to turn to for guidance…

Click image more detail

Britannia’s Shark – the third of the Dawlish Chronicles , was published in December 2014 and is available in paperback and Kindle formats.

It’s April 1881, a year since Commander Nicholas Dawlish returned from the brutal campaign in Paraguay detailed in Britannia’s Reach.  A personal tragedy has drawn him yet closer to his beloved wife Florence and in its aftermath they welcome the opportunity to combine his duty to observe trials of a new weapon in the Adriatic with an idyllic holiday together. Neither suspects that they are about to be drawn into a nightmare…

Daring and initiative have already bought Dawlish rapid advancement in the Royal Navy and he hungers for more.  But can the price be too high, not just for himself but for the woman he loves?

Click image more detail

Britannia’s Reach is the second book of the Dawlish Chronicles

In 1880, on a broad river in the heart of South America, a flotilla of paddle steamers thrashes slowly upstream, laden with troops, horses and artillery, intent on conquest and revenge.

Ahead lies a commercial empire that was wrested from a British consortium in a bloody revolution. Now the investors are determined to recoup their losses and are funding a vicious war to do so.

Nicholas Dawlish, an ambitious British naval officer, is playing a leading role in the expedition.  But as brutal land and river battles mark its progress upriver, and as both sides inflict and endure ever greater suffering, stalemate threatens.

And Dawlish finds himself forced to make a terrible ethical choice if he is to return to Britain with some shreds of integrity remaining…

Click image more detail

And Dawlish was introduced in Britannia’s Wolf

If you haven’t yet read Britannia’s Wolf, the first of the Dawlish Chronicles, in which Nicholas Dawlish first appears, it’s the best place to start the series.

It is 1877 and the Russo-Turkish War is reaching its climax. A Russian victory will pose a threat to Britain’s strategic interests. To protect them an ambitious British naval officer, Nicholas Dawlish, is assigned to the Ottoman Navy to ravage Russian supply-lines in the Black Sea. In the depths of a savage winter, as Turkish forces face defeat on all fronts, Dawlish confronts enemy ironclads, Cossack lances and merciless Kurdish irregulars, and finds himself a pawn in the rivalry of the Sultan’s half-brothers for control of the collapsing empire. And in the midst of this chaos, unwillingly and unexpectedly, Dawlish finds himself drawn to a woman whom he believes he should not love.

Neither for his own sake, nor for hers…

The reviews of Britannia’s Wolf have been very positive, and some samples are below:

On 25th July 2013 “Westsail” filed a review on, entitled ” Ironclads and Steam Power in a Great Work of Nautical Fiction ” Click here to read it.

And here’s a review posted on by Linda Collison, herself a maritime-adventure novelist and best known – and uniquely – for her female protagonist, Patricia MacPherson, who embarks on a medical career at sea in “Barbados Bound” and “The Surgeon’s Mate” .

Click here for her review:

And below here to read an independent review on the Historic Naval Fiction website:

Click below for a review on the website from a reader in the United States which is entitled:

The British Navy cruises on steam, not sails, in this Victorian-era series

There’s also a very detailed and compehensive review from “Seaweed”, a knowledgable British reader. Click below to read it:

 Seaweed’s Review